Jonas Reviews

Jonas

Contruction Software

4/5 (103 reviews)
Translate with Google

Commercial/Residential Electrica Contractor. Jonas was the right fit for us.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/24/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We have been live with Jonas for a little over a year. As with ANY software, it isn't perfect and will not suit every need. It is impossible for a software to please everyone as we all run our businesses differently. We shopped several software options, and for our medium size company with a service department, Jonas fit us best. I agree, the reports are very simplistic in format and do take some getting used to. I had to look beyond pretty pictures and format as what is really important to us is the data.

The Pro and Con to Jonas is it is HIGHLY customizable. With that, there needs to be a very thoughtful process to how you set it up in the beginning. Which is a challenge since you won't know how some things work until you are using it. It is a very robust software for the price, in my opinion, and will take patience and time to learn all it can do. I found that the very basics such as entering A/P, work orders, creating jobs are very easy to learn. The complexity comes when you want/expect to rely less on outside software and spreadsheets.

Our company borders two states, one with a multi-jurisdiction sales tax schedule. Every payroll or sales tax requirement Jonas has been able to handle. Jonas is able to handle multi-state, multi union payrolls. Something we found not very many programs could throw in a service department and it became very small unless I wanted to buy a program that equated us to driving a bus down the road for 3 people while spending 6 figures. No thank you.

Pros

My favorite is the Project Control screen. From there, our project managers can drill down and get all the information they need in one quick and easy place. Each person can customize some of the drill down screens to tailor to their individual needs. AIA/progress billing is easy with the step by step menu. It is also easy to go back and adjust if needed. The ability to set controls across the various modules. Your voice is heard. I have always been able to talk thru a challenge with support and management. They listen and if the demand is there they will put it in the next product update.

Cons

The stock payroll reports haven't fit very well for us. But Jonas is working on that. Cluttered menu items that hang in there because their long-time customers still use them. It is confusing when you are first learning.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Translate with Google

I am Happy Long-term Client that has been using Jonas since 2001

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/2/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Great trainers who are very knowledgeable and professional. They work with us to troubleshoot any issues we are having with prompt response time!

Pros

We found Jonas easy to learn because they have THE BEST trainers and customer support. We have gotten to know that staff over the years and they are awesome! Doesn’t matter if we have big or small questions - they are always willing to help us. We use the system for A/R, A/P, G/L, Payroll, Project Management, Service Management, Inventory, and Equipment. The reporting is the best part because we are able to fully drill down and see how all projects are doing at any point in time. We’ve also been able to grow our service management side because of their Dispatch Board and the mobile solution. We love it!!! And last but not least, the payroll makes my life so much easier, having both union and non-union – this makes it a breeze. As a Union Electrical Contractor working in over ten different locals in California, this is imperative to have this functionality. Jonas Software has changed the way the company operates, saving time, making things more organized, and more proficient. Jonas is always listening to clients and they truly care and live up to their promise of being a partner rather than just a provider. We are able to have full insight into our business and we’ve been able to grow because of the software!

Cons

At this time I can not think of any cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Translate with Google

Jonas Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/24/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Jonas is our third ERP software program we have used in 20 years in business. Learned a lot about selection process' by knowing my experiences with the first two. I also learned none of them do everything, all of them will hiccup from time to time. So my selection of Jonas centered around: 1. Is their customer service responsive (yes), 2. Do they constantly try to improve the product based on customer input (yes), 3. Is the product fairly priced (yes). and is the annual fee structure reasonable (yes). We also needed a strong field mobile platform as we have used wireless field mobile solutions for many years. Jonas has worked very well for us, we continue to get training on new modules and features we can use to make our company process/ better.

Pros

Constantly looking for ways to improve a product and they do not wait until year end to release updates if they are ready they release them. Customer service is very responsive if you need immediate help. Training is very high quality, conversion from our old to the new system was without trouble and well planned.

Cons

Dispatch board does not schedule projects or long term service work well (works very well for day to day calls) but they developed a project scheduler that looks promising for that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Translate with Google

Our Jonas experience has been an excellent move for our business.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/23/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We have experienced increased productivity on the administrative side of our business and higher accuracy in all areas.

Pros

eMobile and Dispatch Scheduler have helped us to respond to customer service requests in a more organized and timely manner. The integration part of this software has increased our productivity enormously. No more paper work orders! And has made the accounting side of our business seamless from service tech to customer invoice. Payroll accuracy has increased and timeliness of getting invoices out to customers has increased because of the techs ability to use devices to complete work orders and we are not waiting for them to be turned into the office.

Cons

I find the Job Costing module very cumbersome. The job invoicing is a little arduous. When doing multiple customers for monthly draws, it is very time consuming to have to go in and out of each job to invoice. Also, if you do not have a bill to set up in accounts receivable you have to exit the job master, then go to AR to set up the bill to and back into the job master to finish your set up.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Translate with Google

Very Satisfied User

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/27/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our company switched software products to Jonas just over 1 year ago. We had outgrown our old system. We've been extremely pleased with both the Jonas software and the Jonas staff we've interacted with. Our company has just over 100 employees in four office locations. This system can handle our multiple divisions without being too complicated or cumbersome to use.

Pros

The primary issue with our last software was an inability to get good reporting and data from the system, especially for our multi-divisional operation. The report writer in Jonas is a very useful tool, and the financial drill-down capabilities are excellent. We also now have real-time job cost data, and more detailed P&Ls, which has helped our ability to manage construction work.

Cons

No software product is perfect. We've had to adapt a few of our internal processes to fit the way Jonas is made to operate, but nothing has come up that we haven't been able to work around. The Jonas trainers are also an excellent resource we've utilized to make the system work as best it can for us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Translate with Google

Flooring contractor / reseller - after 6 years of Jonas experience

Reviewed on 3/16/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The software handles WIP reporting very well. The subcontractor module provides good controls. The design of sales tax location codes provides good flexibility in sales tax reporting. The product has well-integrated applications. The F2 lookup ability in modules is consistently designed and very helpful.

Cons

1) I would like more standard reporting capabilities. Some reports need Report Generator reports to create. Others require DataMart. DataMart can obtain good results, but it is too complex for anyone but a programmer to design. Almost all contractors have to deal with reporting workers comp and sales taxes, so these reports should be part of a standard product and not need custom programming.
2) During conversion in 2008, it was difficult to fully convert existing data into Jonas and also tie everything to jobs.
3) Portions of the programming have fields with too few characters available. Examples are the Customer PO field in Job Cost and A/R, along with the part number field in inventory.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Translate with Google

Small construction/service company.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/25/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Lots of features and fairly easy to use.
Customer support, when we've needed it, has be good and typically provided in a timely manner.

Cons

Old interface. 15 character limit on inventory items (and having to use alternate part numbers) needs to be fixed. Even the alternate part numbers are too small for many of our parts.
Purchase order numbers, and cheque numbers are too short.
New modules seem like add-ons to the base program, rather than a complete integrated solution.
Inability to access some fields for custom reports. Some built in reports are poorly implemented.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Translate with Google

11 Years of Loyality!!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/25/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

When we first came on board with Jonas in 2007 we had some issues being an excavation contractor in Pennsylvania with the state Prevailing wages, taxes, etc. but Jonas worked through those issues with us and now I highly recommend them!! I have been on many different software packages and Jonas is my favorite!!

Pros

Have always loved the support and ease of logging a support call. Staff is very knowledgeable!! Updates are easy to load. Jonas listens to clients needs for any changes that benefit the client.

Cons

I have nothing bad to say about Jonas. I have never had any thing to complain about with them. Everything is great!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Translate with Google

After some training it is a very indepth easy to use program

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/4/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

The customer support are amazing and really know their product!!!

Pros

The customer support whenever you have an issue, question or concern is outstanding, when you log a case they get back to you very quickly.

Cons

The system can be a little overwhelming if you do not have some training, but once you have been working with it for awhile (if you have worked with other accounting software) it is very user friendly at least for the general areas of each module. If you search in the tutorials Jonas is quite good at supplies assistance for most of the modules.
Therefore I can not really find a con.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Translate with Google

Jonas Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/23/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The software gives us all the tools we need to run efficiently with modules for Financial Reports, Payroll, Inventory, Project Management, Subcontracting, and more.
There is plenty of training available both online, by phone, and in person so all questions are answered in a very reasonable time. Comparable products are considerably more expensive and do the same things Jonas does for a far more reasonable price. the value cannot be overstated.
Most importantly, Jonas is one of those companies that truly takes an interest in their clientele and it shows.

Cons

The transition process is intensive so time and dedication is required initially, but once it is done things flow very smoothly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Translate with Google

An accounting-focused software that focuses on the minutia instead of general ease of use.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Jonas creates an almost sterile accounting environment where every move is tracked and audited, increasing visibility of individual tasks. Processes are broken down into very small steps which can be helpful if you're looking for an audit trail. The mobile portion (emobile) of Jonas Enterprise is a valuable addition for field workers and dispatchers alike.

Cons

Visually the interface leaves much to be desired. Scale and size are unchangeable and there are many screens and modules that are so miniscule as to render them unreadable. Mobile-wise the visuals get better but are not quite user friendly for service individuals in the middle of a job.
Jonas creates such a lengthy process for every single task that it can seem like you are taking 7 steps that could have been accomplished in one. While the audit function of Jonas is a highlight for the developers, as an ordinary user I can say it is something I never use but is incorporated into everything I do whether I like it or not. Boasted as a "true accounting software" I can't help but imagine it was an accountant's evil fantasy to produce such a laborious process to accomplish small daily tasks.
When Jonas is forced to go big, it fails spectacularly. Financial reporting is and general overview is so fuzzy and diluted it's almost useless. Because Jonas creates so much data on the micro scale, large reports and financial analysis provides very little useful information. Drill down does not exist in the true sense of the word.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

3.0/10
Translate with Google

We have been using Jonas Enterprise just over 6 years. Not happy with the product. Unfortunately we spent over our budget at the time and have added all the modules they offer over the years. Lots of promises that the software will be improved and the dat

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/4/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

low budget product

Pros

Unfortunately we spent to much money on this product. I honestly can't think of any pros. we went with this product initially because it was a Canadian company and they would have a better handle on the accounting piece. our accountants think the software isa joke.

Cons

- Currently the it runs on a data base that no one uses, out dated. the company does a great job marketing the product but once you start using it, you will come to discover its not that good. Some examples:
Job names, contract numbers, part numbers etc , only allow a limited number of characters. some times client PO's or contract numbers are 15-20 characters or more and the field doesn't allow for more than 12.
- Many more to list, will probably run out of room.
- Support is not good.
- document control does not sync well, cannot drag and drop items from document management or emails back and forth
- EBI always go down.
- design your own forms has many limitations not customizable
- project scheduler is not customizable
- dispatch scheduler does not sync smoothly with the software
- e-mobile is a joke, not customizable
- no automatic update functionality for the software. has to been done manually. have to end all service to update and restart server.
- maintenance fees are very expensive, not worth it

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Translate with Google

12-year Jonas user

Reviewed on 8/14/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The bookmark feature where you can have multiple screens open simultaneously is so convenient. Jonas is willing to accept input on new ideas and feedback on current features to keep the product moving forward. Our network administrator thought the Jonas user conferences worthwhile and learned a lot at the seminars and networking sessions with other users.

Cons

MIS processes an extremely high volume of service calls every month. It has been a learning curve using the new Jonas dispatch/scheduler which is vastly different from the previous dispatch board. Customer service reps have been working with us since the upgrade in March. Plus we are working towards implementing Jonas eMobile in September which should go a long way towards streamling our cumbersome data entry processes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Translate with Google

Jonas is awesome, a MUST software if you are in construction.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/13/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The one entry accounting system is the best feature, everything flows from one module to the other, payroll to cost reports, A/P, A/R etc.
You basically get excellent reports that you can customize to your companies needs directly from your standard accounting functions.

Cons

One of the few cons would be the mobility between modules and some of the limited selection features when printing, etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Translate with Google

A Simple, Highly Customizable, Multi Function Software

Reviewed on 9/20/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I have used Jonas to process Accounts Receivable,Accounts Payable, Payroll, Inventory, and Job Cost since 2010. The modules are easy to use and financial reports can be customized for better decision making especially in Job Cost.

The Inventory Module helps to track levels to re-order and specific materials used per job.

Overall, I think this is a great software for the Construction Industry because Labour Costs, Materials, and Overheads can be easily retrieved in detail.

Cons

In the future, I would like to be able to retrieve scanned vendor & customer documents(WSIB & Certificate of Insurance) through the Vendor & Customer Modules(Contractors & Subs). This will be better for tracking purpose.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Translate with Google

Great software and fantastic people!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/14/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Many thanks to Jonas Management Team and Jonas Support Staff for fantastic adventure at work during past 5 years of using Jonas Software!

Pros

Logical, intuitive software to work with and timely, accurate reports
Actually able to be creative with Design your own report module.

Cons

I find that Help Docs search is not giving the desired outcome. I like better Video Tutorial Section.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Translate with Google

Extremely happy with Jonas Software.

Reviewed on 4/1/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I like the Accounting part of this product, being able to drill down and see exactly where the information is coming from as well as being able to see who did what and on what terminal. I also like the reporting capabilities that Jonas offers. I also think that the customer support is outstanding! Thank you Jonas! You have a great team!

Cons

I think that the contracts have been probably the weakest link for me. I would like to see more discussions on the service contracts. It would be nice to have more than one session offered at the conference on Service Contracts. We are still relatively new with this software (April 2013) so I am still learning.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Translate with Google

Jonas Construction

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/16/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

cumbersome and not very user friendly
reporting is terrible

Pros

complete set of modules

Cons

reporting and user interface and ease of use

Response from Ashley

Hi John,

I’m really sorry about the pain you’ve been experiencing. I know that an apology doesn’t make up for what you are going through, but we have been trying to get in touch with you but haven’t been able to reach you.
We did notice that you are currently on an older version of Jonas and not utilizing a lot of the modules that Jonas has to offer and believe that this might be the root cause of some of the issues you are experiencing.
Our newer versions have a different user interface and are included free of charge with your annual maintenance fee.
We do apologize and hope you have some time to connect so we are able to work through this and build a strong successful partnership.
Please feel free to call me back at 1(888)789-9073 ex. 2504 and we will schedule a complimentary system review.
We’ll keep trying to get in touch with you if we don’t hear back!

Ashley Pagliaro,
Manager, Account Management,
Jonas Construction Software

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

1.0/10
Translate with Google

Jonas Accounting Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/2/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Awesome

Pros

Multi User, able to handle large Corporation, expandable, great support, strong company with resources available to assist product users.

Cons

Learning curve but well worth an accountants time, excellent support not a lot of negative to say except this sentence is way to long.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Translate with Google

Integrated system for service & construction

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/27/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

All in one system; all employees use the same system.
Both service and install departments have specific functionalities

Cons

After 6 years using Jonas, I can tell that if you have a recommendation on how to make Jonas better, the management team will listen to you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Translate with Google

Director of Accounting

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/15/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Overall the products are pretty accurate in processing data and generate financial reports, most of data can be downloaded in Excel for us to analyze.

Cons

The system should not allow unbalanced JEs to be posted, in addition, it should make it easy to run reports by Dep. IDs

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Translate with Google

JONAS Enterprise a masterpiece in the Making

Reviewed on 4/15/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Jonas is a great multi-faceted ERP. It covers all your accounting needs and takes risk in developing innovative solutions to our needs. There is a modern dispatch scheduler that allows you to manage your technicians, eMobile that allows techs to work paperless and provide immediate results. Among a few.

Cons

I have no complaints. I would add though that when deploying new products that more release information should be included with standard procedures.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Translate with Google

Comprehensive Program

Reviewed on 3/16/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This program is easy to navigate and is very user-friendly. We have people with a variety of levels of accounting knowledge that use the program without issue. The ability to adapt the program to various enterprises has made this program a favorite with our Board.

Cons

It is difficult to have a "like least" facet of the program, as I like all aspects. The customer service is great, the program is adaptable to various industries, and has different modules to meet the needs of a growing company.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Translate with Google

Jonas Review

Reviewed on 3/16/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Great software for small to medium sized business - good value at this price.

Cons

The inventory control/counter sales module is a bit weak, and this is what we use the most. More options in the report generator would be great.

Customization charges can be overly high with regards to changing standard forms (invoices, POs, etc.). There is a DIY program, but it is not very user-friendly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Translate with Google

Looked for Jonas as a solution. Only found problems.

Reviewed on 5/6/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

After investing in this software and using it for six months in the construction industry, hoping it would provide a solution to integrating a full service project management, doc control and accounting system, our general contracting company had no choice but to return to Sage 100 Software. Jonas was horrible.

Cons

Jonas overpromised in their sales, and underdelivered to the point of negligence in both the product and the service. We paid for add on modules that were never installed or followed up on, the training was inadequate, and the support was horrible. Please do yourself a favor, if you are a general contractor looking for a solution as above, and do NOT consider Jonas. It was a very expensive mistake for our company, in terms of the issues that it caused us. I was never so glad to go back to an imperfect program as Sage 100. We cleaned up our files and worked with a consultant, and I am so happy with Sage now after our nightmare experience with Jonas.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

1.0/10